The Councillors

Councillors’ Roles and Appointments 20-21


Mrs Dorothy McBride

Dorothy McBride is Clerk to the Council. Dorothy was born and brought up in Neen Savage. She attended Cleobury Mortimer Primary School and Lacon Childe School before moving on to college and university. She is married with three children. After working in Retail Management for 20 years she returned home and now works for three parish councils, helps on the family farm and runs Cleobury Mortimer Guides.

The Willows, Cleobury Mortimer, DY14 0HB
Tel: 01299 272 717

CHAIRMAN – Arthur Ratcliff

I have lived in Neen Savage my whole life. I was born and brought up at Detton Hall Farm, and farmed there for 30 years, before moving up to Shunesley Farm 10 years ago where four generations of our family now live. I am keen to help Neen Savage remain a caring and inclusive community, and a great place to live and work.

Shunesley Farm, Cleobury Mortimer, DY14 8LN
Tel : 01299 270173

VICE-CHAIRMAN – Michael Tomkinson

Tel: 01299 271413


Sue Del Mar

I am a retired schoolteacher and have lived in Neen Savage for over forty years.

I am the Treasurer of the Parochial Church Council and an editor of the village magazine, the Vital Link.

I am also Treasurer of Cleobury Patients Voice, the patient participation group for the medical Centre.

Tel: 01299 270397

George Haywood

I have lived in Neen Savage all my life and apart from some time working in Australia, New Zealand and America have been involved in running all aspects of the family business. We are a mainly arable concern but also run a few sheep and are always keen to undertake areas of conservation work within the farm. I have been a snow operative for the County Council for many years and have also been a past member of Neen Savage Parish Council and a Member of the County Councils Standards Committee. I am married to Emma and we have 3 children aged 20,20 and 18. I very much look forward to serving on the Council for the next 3 years and working alongside everyone in the Parish

Lower Baveney Farm, Cleobury Mortimer, DY14 8LD
Tel: 01299 270 137

Stephen Hinton

My wife Gill and I have lived in Neen Savage since January 1990. We have a teenage son Matthew who has been born into the Parish and, like ourselves, enjoys the beautiful countryside we are so fortunate to have.

I consider it extremely important that we retain the rural nature of Neen Savage but I also wish to support employment opportunities in keeping with our location.

Tel: 01299 841293

Olwen Sales

I have lived at Reaside in Neen Savage since 2003, along with my mother-in-law, husband and two children. I run a thriving business from Reaside which employs 12 people. I love to ride and walk in our beautiful countryside and am committed to retaining the peaceful and essentially rural nature of Neen Savage, while supporting appropriate development. I believe regular and full communication is key and have been involved with the development of the Parish Council Facebook page and Website.

Reaside, Neen Savage, Cleobury Mortimer, DY14 8ES
Tel: 01299 272 248

Andy Vanderhook

I moved to Baveney Wood 34 years ago when my career in the oil industry brought me to the Midlands and from which I retired 18 years ago. I was first elected to the Council in 2003, serving for 10 years.

My passion is sustainable rural communities and to that end I have served on the Board of Shropshire Rural Housing Association for the past 9 years.

Please contact me if you have issues that you feel Council should be aware of or with which you feel I may be able to help.

Tel: 01299 841379